UPSC Civil Services Examinations (CSE)

The Civil Services Examination (CSE) is a nationwide competitive examination in India conducted by the Union Public Service Commission for recruitment to various Civil Services of the Government of India, including the Indian Administrative Service (IAS), Indian Foreign Service (IFS), and Indian Police Service (IPS). Also simply referred to as the UPSC examination, it is conducted in three phases - a preliminary examination consisting of two objective-type papers (General Studies Paper I and General Studies Paper II also popularly known as Civil Service Aptitude Test or CSAT), and a main examination consisting of nine papers of conventional (essay) type, in which two papers are qualifying and only marks of seven are counted followed by a personality test (interview).

UPSC Civil Services Examinations Exam Highlights

Exam Name

Civil Services Exam 2020

Conducting Body

Union Public Service Commission(UPSC)

Exam Level


UPSC Vacancies


Exam Frequency

Once a year

Exam Mode

Offline - Pen and Paper Mode

Exam Stages

Prelims - Mains(Written) - Mains(Interview)

Application Fee(Prelims)



Prelims - English and Hindi

No. of Test Cities

Test centres across the nation

Exam Helpdesk No.

011-23098543 / 23385271 / 23381125 / 23098591

Official Website