Delhi Police Constable (DP) Exam

The Delhi Police (DP) is the law enforcement agency for the National Capital Territory of Delhi (NCT). Delhi Police comes under the jurisdiction of the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA), Government of India. In 2015, the sanctioned strength of Delhi Police was 84,536 (including I.R. Battalions) making it one of the largest metropolitan police forces in the world. About 25% of Delhi Police strength is earmarked for VIP security.


Delhi Police has its origin in a small security force, established in 1854, under the assistant of British Resident to the Mughal Imperial Courts. Founded in 1861 after the adoption of the Indian Police Act, Delhi Police remained a part of the Punjab Police until India gained independence in 1947.


Before 1948 Delhi was part of Punjab Police.


In 1948, the Delhi Police was restructured. Mr D.W. Mehra became the first chief of Delhi Police. The strength of the Delhi Police in 1951 was about 8,000 with one Inspector General of Police (IGP) and eight Superintendents of Police (SP). In 1956 a post of Deputy Inspector General of Police was created. In 1961, the strength of Delhi police was over 12,000.

In 1966, the Delhi Police on the basis of the Khosla Commission Report was reorganized. Four police districts, namely, North, Central, South and New Delhi were created. In 1978, the Delhi Police Act was passed and the Commissioner System was introduced with effect from 1 July 1978.

J.N. Chaturvedi, with rank of IGP, became first Commissioner of Delhi Police from October 1978 – Jan 1980

Common name

Delhi Police




Shanti Seva Nyaya
(शांति सेवा न्याय)
Peace Service Justice

Agency overview


Delhi Police on 16 February 1948

Preceding agency

  • Municipal Police



Annual budget

₹8,619 crore (US$1.2 billion) (2020–21 est.)

Jurisdictional structure

Operations jurisdiction

Delhi, IN


The new Headquarters of Delhi Police is located at Jai Singh Marg, Connaught Place, New Delhi. Delhi Police is divided into twelve branches under the Commissioner of Delhi Police or CP. The main four among the branches, each under a Special Commissioner of Police (Special CP), are:

Special CP (Administration): The Special CP Administration has three Joint Commissioner of Police under him and two Additional CP's. One of them is responsible for Headquarters. Every Joint CP and Additional CP has a DCP under him. The CP responsible for Headquarters is in charge of Public Relations and has a Public Relation Officer (PRO) under him.

Special CP (Training): The Special CP has a Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) answering to him. The Vice-Principal of Police Training College (P.T.C) answers to the DCP.

Special CP (Security): The Special CP Security has three Joint CP's working under him. Each of them has an Additional CP under him. The Additional CP gives orders to the CP's of each Police Battalion

Special CP (Intelligence): The Special CP Intelligence has a Joint CP and an Additional CP working under him. The Additional CP gives orders to an Additional CP and to the F.R.R.O section. He is responsible for the registration of foreigners in the Delhi Police region. The Additional CP has a DCP working under him. There is an Additional DCP under the DCP.

In addition to the above officers, there are Special CP (Law & Order), Special CP (Crime), Special CP (Traffic) and Special CP (Special Cell).