National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)

National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY) was launched on 21 January 2015 with the aim of bringing together urban planning, economic growth and heritage conservation in an inclusive manner to preserve the heritage character of each Heritage City.

The Union Ministry of Urban Development has approved projects worth Rs.114 crore under HRIDAY scheme for improving infrastructure facilities around core heritage sites in five cities.
These five cities are: Varnasi (Uttar Pradesh), Amritsar (Punjab), Dwaraka (Gujarat), Puri (Odisha) and Warangal (Telangana).
Projects in these districts were selected based on recommendation of inter-Ministerial HRIDAY National Empowered Committee.

  • The National Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY), a central sector scheme of the Government of India, was launched on 21st¬†January 2015 with the aim of bringing together urban planning, economic growth and heritage conservation in an inclusive manner & with the objective of preserving the heritage character of the City. Under the Scheme, twelve cities namely, Ajmer, Amritsar, Amaravati, Badami, Dwarka, Gaya, Kanchipuram, Mathura, Puri, Varanasi Velankanni, Warangal have been identified for development. The mission period of HRIDAY scheme ended on 31st¬†March, 2019.
  • The Scheme has supported development of¬†core heritage linked civic infrastructure projects¬†which includes revitalization of urban infrastructure for areas around heritage, religious, cultural and tourism assets of the cities. These initiatives include development of water supply, sanitation, drainage, waste management, approach roads, footpaths, street lights, tourist conveniences, electricity wiring, landscaping and such citizen services.


Heritage City Development and Augmentation Yojana (HRIDAY)



Prime Minister(s)

Narendra Modi


21 January 2015; 6 years ago


‚āĻ500 crore¬†(US$70¬†million)





The objectives of the scheme are:

  • Planning, development and implementation of heritage-sensitive infrastructure
  • Service Delivery and infrastructure provisioning in the core areas of the historic city
  • Preserve and revitalise heritage wherein tourists can connect directly with city‚Äôs unique character
  • Develop and document a heritage asset inventory of cities ‚Äď natural, cultural, living and built heritage as a basis for urban planning, growth, service provision and delivery
  • Implementation and enhancement of basic services delivery with focus on sanitation services like public conveniences, toilets, water taps, street lights, with use of latest technologies in improving tourist facilities/amenities.
  • Local capacity enhancement for inclusive heritage-based industry


Name of the scheme


Full form of the scheme

National Heritage City Development And Augmentation Yojana

Date of launching

21st January 2015

Government Ministry

Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs


HRIDAY Scheme Cities List

Below are the cities that are listed under the HRIDAY Scheme:

  • Ajmer
  • Amravati
  • Badami
  • Gaya
  • Mathura
  • Puri
  • Varanasi
  • Velankanni
  • Warangal
  • Dwarka
  • Kanchipuram
  • Amritsar


Funds allocated to 12 heritage cities in India are listed below:


Amount (in crores)

Ajmer (Rajasthan)


Amravati (Andhra Pradesh)


Amritsar (Punjab)


Badami (Karnataka)


Dwaraka (Gujarat)


Gaya (Bihar)


Kanchipuram (Tamil Nadu)


Mathura (Uttar Pradesh)


Puri (Orissa)


Varanasi (Uttar Pradesh)


Velankanni (Tamil Nadu)


Warangal (Telengana)